Teamster Transition Update

General President-elect Sean O’Brien announced more than a dozen new appointments to his leadership team on an OZ-Teamsters United transition update call on Sunday, Feb 27. The new leadership will officially assume office on March 22. 

Since the last update, the Teamsters United Transition Team hosted a roundtable discussion on various Teamster Departments and set key leadership posts.

International Vice President Juan Campos of Chicago Local 705 will lead the Tankhaul Division. 

International Vice President Lindsay Dougherty, from Hollywood Local 399, will be the Director of the Motion Picture Division.

International Vice President Matt Taibi, from Rhode Island Local 251, will be the Director of the Passenger Transportation Division. 

International Vice President Peter Finn, from NorCal Local 856, will lead the Food Processing Division.

International Vice President Rocco Calo will lead the Industrial Trades Division.

Richmond Local 322 President Brian Peyton will be the Director of the Teamsters Human Rights & Diversity Commission.

Ashley Alvarado of Norcal Local 856 will lead the IBT Women's Conference. 

Jeff Padellaro of New Hampshire Local 633 will lead the Brewery and Soft Drink Division. 

Tom Gesualdi, the president of New York Local 282 will head the Construction Division with Jeff Cooper, of Louisville Local 89 as the Assistant Director.

Randy Korgan of SoCal Local 1932 will continue to direct the IBT Amazon Division.

Chuck Stiles of Atlanta Local 728 will continue to lead the Waste Division with Felix Martinez of Oakland Local 70 as Assistant Director. 

International Vice President Bill Hamilton will continue to head the Express Division. John A. Murphy, of Boston Local 25, will continue as Freight Division Director. 

Tommy Blitsch of Las Vegas Local 631 will continue as Director of the Trade Show Division with new Boston Local 25 President Tom Mari as the Assistant Director. 

The Airline Division will be led by Director Joe Ferrera and Assistant Director Greg Unterseher of Local 1224. 

The Public Services Division will be led by Chuck Whobrey of Indiana Local 215 with International Vice President Greg Floyd from New York Local 237 serving as Assistant Director.   

Jason Sweet of Ontario Local 419 was named O'Brien's liaison to Teamsters Canada. 

On a previous transition update call, O'Brien named Tom Erickson as Warehouse Division Director, Chris Rosell as Organizing Director, IBT Vice President John Palmer as Deputy Organizing Director for Internal Organizing, IBT Vice President Avral Thompson as Carhaul Director, and Local 822 Teamster Paul Trujillo as Education Department Director.

The Teamsters United leadership will be sworn into office on March 22 in a private ceremony. A public event open to members will be held on a date to be determined in June, including a meet and greet with the new Teamster leadership.

Get Advice Join TDU Donate

Recent News

UPS Teamsters Heat Safety Enforcement Webinar Sunday, May 19

The Teamsters Package Division and the Training and Grants Department is holding a webinar this Sunday, May 19 for UPS Teamsters on heat safety, harassment, and other issues. Sign up for the webinar here.

Ron Carey and the Teamsters

Ron Carey and the Teamsters is a new book about the first-ever directly elected president of the Teamsters, who rose from being a local president to lead the IBT in 1991.

View More News Posts